Dangerous dogs categories

Dangerous dogs can be broken down into three categories:

  • Dangerous dog - declared
  • Dangerous dog - restricted breed
  • Commercial security dog.

Dangerous dog - declared

The City may declare an individual dog dangerous if:

  • The dog has caused injury or damage by an attack on, or chasing a person, animal or vehicle, or
  • The dog has repeatedly, shown a tendency: 
    • to attack, or chase, a person, animal or vehicle even though no injury has been caused by that behaviour; or
    • to threaten to attack.

Dangerous dog - restricted breed

The Dog Act 1976 advises the following dogs as restricted breed dogs:

  • American Pit Bull Terrier and Pit Bull Terrier
  • Dogo Argentino (Argentinean Fighting Dog)
  • Fila Brasileiro (Brazillian Fight Dog)
  • Japanese Tosa
  • Any dog of a mixed breed that visibly contains any of these breeds.

Commercial security dog

This is any dog that is kept to guard or protect a commercial premise. A dog which demonstrates aggressive behaviour when actively working.

Dangerous dog owner responsibilities

In addition to standard dog owner responsibilities, owners of dangerous dogs must ensure the following:

  • Dog to wear prescribed collar
  • Property to display warning signs at every entrance
  • Escape and child proof fencing
  • A maximum of two dangerous dogs per property
  • Dog to be held on leash and muzzled at all times in a public place
  • Compulsory sterilisation (dangerous breed only)
  • Can only be registered 1 year at a time.


The City Rangers carry out annual inspections of properties for dangerous dog owner to ensure compliance with all restrictions. An inspection fee is charged with each inspection.

More information and contacts

For more information please contact us.

Page Last Reviewed 4 November 2019