Council Elections

Council Elections

Elections 2019

The CIty of Armadale ordinary elections will be held on Saturday 19 October 2019. A full election timetable is available here.

About Armadale Council

The City is divided into seven wards with two Councillors representing each ward for a four year term. Ward information is available here.

The City of Armadale Council comprises of 14 Councillors, including the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, who are elected to represent the Armadale district.

Postal Elections

The City of Armadale's election is conducted on a postal basis which has occurred since 1996 when postal elections were first introduced.

Council Elections are held every two years with voting voluntary but highly encouraged.

The City has appointed the Western Australian Electoral Commission to conduct the election; this includes the appointment of the Returning Officer.

Interested in becoming a Councillor (Eligibility criteria)?

Further detail on eligibility to be a councillor is contained within the attached documents however by way of brief explanation you need to be either;

  1. A resident within Armadale (your normal place of residence is within the Armadale district) and you appear on the State Electoral roll as an elector (i.e. enrolled to vote at elections);


  1. A non-resident or occupier provided;
  • You are on the State or Commonwealth electoral rolls for your normal place of residence outside the Armadale district; AND
  • You genuinely own or occupy rateable property in Armadale (e.g. commercial premises by way of legal instrument like a lease for a minimum three month term); AND
  • You have made a successful eligibility claim form (See enrolment eligibility form links at the top left of this page) with the City’s Rates department that is still current.

You must satisfy either of the above requirements (1 or 2) and also not be disqualified from being a councillor e.g. a member of parliament, insolvency, convictions, membership of another council, misapplication of funds/property and several others. Other exclusions also apply and are detailed on the nomination form (Form LG08) to become a councillor.

Enrolled to vote?


You are automatically enrolled to vote at local government elections if you are on the State Electoral Roll for a property within the Armadale district for your normal residential address as at 4:00pm 30 August 2019.

You can check your enrolment details on the State Electoral Roll at the Western Australian Electoral Commissions website by clicking here or calling 13 63 06.

In order to be eligible to vote, you must also be:

  • 18 years of age or older; and
  • An Australian Citizen; and
  • Have lived at your present address for at least one last month prior to the close of enrolments.

If you are not on the State Electoral Roll but meet the eligibility criteria, or if you have changed address recently you must register or update your details by any of the following methods:


In Person or Telephone

Non Residents (Owners and Occupiers)

If you are a non-resident owner or occupier of rateable property in the City of Armadale and are on the State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll, you are eligible to enrol to vote in certain situations:

  • Owners of land who were on the last roll continue to retain that status until they cease to own the rateable property to which the enrolment relates.
  • Occupiers do not have continuous enrolment and should contact the City of Armadale to confirm their enrolment status. To be eligible to enrol as an occupier, you will need to have a right of continuous occupation under a lease, tenancy agreement or other legal instrument for at least the next three (3) months following the date of the application to enrol.

If you are not on the State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll and own or occupy rateable property in the City of Armadale, in rare instances you may still be eligible to enrol to vote. This applies if you were on the City of Armadale’s last electoral roll prior to May 1996 and have owned or occupied rateable property in the district continuously since this time.

If you wish to check your enrolment on the City of Armadale's owners and occupiers roll please contact the City's Rates department on 9394 5000, by email or in person at the City's Administration Centre, 7 Orchard Avenue Armadale.

Applying as a non-resident owner / occupier

To apply as a non-resident Owner / Occupier you will need to complete and submit one of the following enrolment eligibility claim forms (See document list to the right)

  • Owners and Occupiers
  • Multi-owners
  • Corporations

Enrolment eligibility claim forms must be received by the Chief Executive Officer by 5pm Friday 25 August 2017 to allow sufficient time for processing before the close of rolls on 1 September 2017.

Additional Enrolment Information

Joint Owners/Occupiers

If a rateable property is owned or occupied by more than two people, a majority of the owners/occupiers may nominate two persons from amongst themselves who are on either the State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll to enrol to vote as owner/occupier electors.


A body corporate that owns or occupies rateable property in the City may nominate two people who are either on the State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll to enrol as nominees on the City's Owners and Occupiers Roll. For Corporations that own multiple properties in different wards only the same two nominees can vote in each ward.

NOTE: If you are only eligible to vote on the basis of being a nominee of a body corporate under section 4.31 or schedule 9.3 of the Local Government Act 1995, then you are ineligible to be a Councillor.

Legislative Changes (Mandatory Induction Training)

The State Government is currently amending the Local Government Act 1995 with a new requirement in 2019 for people interested in nominating to become a councillor required to undertake mandatory induction training. The Returning Officer will guide potential candidates on the training requirements during nomination week, this being from 8:15am (AWST) on  5 September 2019 to 4:00pm (AWST) 12 September 2019.

Nomination Week

Formal nominations to become a councillor occur during nomination week which is from 8:15am (AWST) 5 September 2019 to 4:00pm (AWST) 12 September 2019. 

Nominations will be received by the Returning Officer at the City of Armadale's main administration building situated 7 Orchard Avenue Armadale Western Australia.

Returning Officer

Contact details for the Returning Officer will be made available early August 2019. In the interim general enquiries to become a councillor can be made by emailing or calling (08) 9394 5000 and asking to speak to a Governance Officer.

When does voting begin?

Postal election packages, which include ballot papers, will be sent to electors from Monday 30 September 2019 and will continue over the ensuing weeks until election day.

Electors have until 6pm Election Day (Saturday 19 October 2019) to cast their vote and are strongly encouraged to hand deliver postal votes if they have not lodged them with Australia Post by 5pm Monday 14 October 2019.

Further Information

Further information about local government elections and the role of a Councillor can be obtained from: