Warning – this Media Release is more than 60 days old.
This Media Release was relevant at the time of release. Content may not be current. This information remains for archival purposes.

Winners of the 2022 Armadale Young Writers' Awards
Release Date: 
Monday, 5 September 2022

Winners of the City’s 12th Armadale Young Writers’ Awards were announced at a presentation evening on Friday 2 September 2022. The awards were open to all students in years 3 - 12 who reside or attend school in the City of Armadale.

Author Nadia L King assisted prospective entrants with their writing and storytelling skills at workshops held during May. This year’s awards attracted 130 entries, which were read by a panel of judges who complimented the high standard of talent and creativity, across all five age categories.

The award winners received a copy of the book containing the winning works and other prizes at a special presentation attended by the City of Armadale Mayor and Councillors, judges, Nadia L King, award winners and their families.

Mayor Butterfield said the City holds the Awards to encourage aspiring young writers to develop their skills.

“Written expression and storytelling is so important to society and we need young people to embrace these powerful skills.”

“By acknowledging school-aged writers with the Armadale Young Writers’ Awards we hope to encourage their writing into the future. I look forward to seeing what these talented young writers go on to achieve. I would like to thank the judges for their work and to congratulate all the winners and those who entered the award,” Mayor Butterfield said.

This year’s winners are:

Category        Years 3 & 4   

First place       Time  by Chiwanka Kariyawasam     

Second place The Golden Dream by Thomas Wallace                    

Third place      The Wonder of Running Waters by Ava Tresham                            

Category        Years 5 & 6   

First place       The Piper’s Revenge by Eu Ming Khaw                               

Second place  The Sea by Sasmitha Thebuwana                

Third place      A New Beginning by Aishmeen Kaur            

Category        Years 7 & 8

First place       The Elevator by Tori Bredenhof                    

Second place  Life On Edge by Sophia Huizinga                 

Third place      Daisies by Tuppence Cornelius                     

Category        Years 9 & 10

First place       Charlie’s Last Dance by Stella Veldman                   

Second place  Jackpot by Pacey van Burgel                                    

Third place      Overlooked by Anja Hughes                          

Category        Years 11 & 12

First place       Familiar by Sasha Bredenhof            

Second place  Flight by Kyra Bredenhof                                           

Third place      Rust and Rubber by Elizabeth Poh                            

Best Overall Winner

Stella Veldman                        Charlie’s Last Dance

Prizes included cash and book vouchers. Winners also received a trophy and certificate. The Overall Winner, Stella Veldman had her name engraved on the Perpetual Armadale Young Writers’ Awards Trophy. The winning stories are compiled into an anthology, which will be available for loan from the City of Armadale Libraries, and for viewing via the library website from 5 September.

For more information on this topic contact:

Phone: (08) 9394 5000
Email: info@armadale.wa.gov.au

Media Contact
For media enquiries please contact:
Marketing and Communications Team
Phone: (08) 9394 5000
Email: communications@armadale.wa.gov.au