Building Legislation

Building Legislation

The Building Code of Australia (BCA)

The BCA is used to determine the appropriate classification for a building or incidental structure. It is a national code, which is produced and maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB).

The BCA is part of the National Construction Code Series (NCC), containing technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and incidental structures. Regulations may prescribe additional standards for new work and different standards for work on existing buildings.

For further information on building classifications, refer to the Australian Building Codes Board's website

The following BCA volumes are applicable in Western Australia

  • Volume One - Building Code of Australia pertains primarily to Commercial or Industrial Class 2 to Class 9 buildings
  • Volume Two - Building Code of Australia pertains primarily to Residential Class 1 and minor Class 10 buildings

For more information see the Building Commission's website

The Building Act 2011 and the Building Regulations 2012

The Building Act 2011 and the supporting Building Regulations 2012 outline the process for determining building standards and ensuring these standards are met through the following systems

  • Compliance certificates
  • Granting Building, Demolition and Occupancy Permits
  • Inspecting non-compliant building work

This legislation provides a comprehensive system of building control, sets standards for building or demolition work in Western Australia, dealing with building or demolition work that affects other land and enforcement of standards by Permit Authorities such as the City of Armadale. To view the Building Act 2011 or the Building Regulations 2012, click on the links below.

Building Act 2011

Building Regulations 2012

For further information refer to the Building Commission's Building Act Overview