City of Armadale

Images of Armadale
Saturday, 31 January 2015

Your Council

Armadale City Council

Government in Australia operates at three levels; Federal, State and Local.

Local government is responsible for most of the things you can see and touch in your local community. These include roads, drains, parks, reserves, sporting facilities and libraries. Your local Council also provides a range of services including garbage and recycling collections, animal control and, planning and building control.

Local government does not deal with areas such as water, sewerage, education, hospitals, public transport, policing or housing.

Local Councils work together with the State and Federal Government to ensure that the needs and interests of local communities are protected and advanced.

Local government is given authority under State law to introduce by-laws or regulations for implementation within the local area, to obtain revenue from rates paid by local residents and businesses, and to administer the district.

Back to top

The City of Armadale

The City of Armadale is the local government representing the communities of Armadale, Bedfordale, Brookdale, Camillo, Champion Lakes, Forrestdale, Harrisdale, Haynes, Hilbert, Kelmscott, Karragullen, Mt Nasura, Mt Richon, Piara Waters, Roleystone, Seville Grove and Wungong

The municipality spans 545 square kilometres and has an estimated population of 55,000.

Back to top


Armadale City Council is made up of fourteen Councillors, including the Mayor. Elections are held every two years, with seven of the fourteen Councillors participating at any one time.

Council meets regularly to make decisions on behalf of local residents. All local issues are divided into one of four distinct areas. They are City Strategy, Development Services, Technical Services and Community Services. Click here to see the Standing Committees of Council (PDF 41.1 KB).

There are four committees of Council, each concentrating on one of the above areas.

To ensure that all issues are thoroughly examined and discussed, each issue is discussed by one of the four committees before being considered by a full meeting of Council.

All Committee and Council Meetings are open to the public.

Back to top


Council staff research, advise and administer the decisions of the elected Council. The organisation is comprised of four directorates. They are: 

Each directorate is divided into departments. Reports are prepared within the departments for referral, via the relevant director, to the various committees.

Back to top

Get Adobe Reader

To view PDF files you must have Adobe Reader installed on your computer. Get Adobe Reader Now. Having problems viewing PDF files on this website? Please ensure you have the latest version of Adobe Reader installed.